Star Wars (2015)

In October Royal Mail issued a set of 18 Special Stamps to celebrate the Star Wars series of films. The stamps, illustrated by British artist Malcolm Tween, incorporated a secondary scene or character on each stamp. In addition, the ‘1ST’ font used in the value of the stamps will replicate that of the iconic typeface used for the films. Also issued on the 20th October was a Miniature Sheet of six stamps featuring intricately detailed illustrations of six iconic Star Wars vehicles, brought together against a backdrop of the dreaded Death Star. The Star Wars series began in 1977. So far, there have been two trilogies of movies that have included major British involvement at UK studios. 17 December 2015 saw the UK theatrical release of the latest instalment in the Star Wars saga, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which was filmed at Pinewood Studios, Buckinghamshire, using British expertise in cast and crew.